MYP Mind the Gap: Tensions in Transition from MYP to DP

UPDATE: March 31 2017

hackthemypI have just presented on #HackTheMYP at the IB Global Conference in Yokohama. At the conference there has been a lot of talk about Visible Learning. Since 2013, when I gave the Mind the Gap presentation, Visible Learning has really taken hold in international schools, as well as attracted some critics. Please read here for a review of Hattie’s more recent Visible Learning and the Science of How we Learn, as well as links to some critiques of the work.

Of course, since 2013 the MYP Next Chapter has taken place, and is now up and running. It is a great updated to the programme, and it is easy to put high-impact teaching practices to work to generate success in MYP… and send great learners up to DP.

I used the ideas in this presentation as the foundation for some assignments with the University of Bath, and in forming the pragmatic definition of inquiry. The rest of this post remains untouched and reflects my thinking back in 2013.

……….o0o0o………..

Reflection: March 2013

Last Saturday I led my first conference breakout session, at the IB Asia Pacific Regional Conference 2013. It was hugely nerve-wracking, yet thoroughly enjoyable and well worth doing. As James MacDonald said in his session on Creativity, there’s nothing like doing a presentation on a topic to make you learn a lot about it – quickly!

When I was preparing the session, I had a few aims in mind:

  1. Pick a topic of discussion that would generate interest and be relevant to everyone in the audience.
  2. Develop a resource that would be used beyond the conference session, giving something tangible that participants could take home and work on.
  3. Facilitate something interactive, rather than a one-way information dump.

Also, after reading more about the Hattie meta-analysis, I wanted to introduce this as a ‘lense’ for these discussions. Whichever side of the fence one may sit with regard to the MYP-DP transition, it is hard to argue with evidence-based teaching and learning. There are strong practices from the DP that can be used in the MYP, as well as strong practices from the PYP and MYP that DP teachers might appreciate more fully with the evidence base.

To (try to) achieve this, I built a wikispace for resources, along with a Prezi for the session and some Wallwishers to collect participant ideas. I was careful to choose tools that would be available to participants when they got home (thanks http://www.blockedinchina.net/), and would be easy to use in the session. This meant many, many hours of preparation.

The premise was simple: are there significant ‘gaps’ between MYP and DP, either real or perceived, what does the evidence say about them (based on the Hattie meta-analysis), and what can we do about them?

MYP Mind the Gap
MYP Mind the Gap: Click to go to the Prezi for my session.

I tried to classify some of the tensions into three main domains. The links take you to the wikispaces page for each.

In each domain, I summarised some of the key findings from the Hattie meta-analysis, and then provided a number of quotes and provocations for groups to discuss: this was an attempt at differentiation by interest, and as I circulated, I could see that there was a great diversity in the interests of the groups. Some groups diverged from the MYP-DP issues and got really into looking at the Hattie resources, which was fine by me – at least there was a take-home for them.

I was even able to include a shout-out to the #MYPChat and extend an invitation to all to join in.

The session turned out better than I had expected, and was worth the work.

The room was busy, with a couple of latecomers standing, and I tried to encourage a loud and collegial discussion. From the first stimulus question, people were engaged – it is clearly an issue that resonates with many schools. I joked at one point that I could just leave the room, but really I probably could have done. I was thrilled to see groups form that did not previously know each other, and one group near the front were lovely – some ladies from India, Indonesia and Malaysia who found they all faced similar challenges of national curricula as well as MYP-DP transitions. I hope they stay in touch with each other!

The hour flew by – which I expected – and I got the sense that the participants enjoyed it. The feedback I received after the session was very positive. Although we had some issues with connecting to the Wallwishers for posting ideas there was little need (that was probably a tech-step too far for some people), everyone received a paper ticket with the URL and QR code, so they can revisit the domains of tension in their own schools.

One comment I’ve had a couple of times is that there is enough material in this to develop a full workshop, which would be cool: taking an evidence-based view of teaching and learning across the transition to strengthen our practices. As the IB grows in its research base and strengthens its provision of pedagogical workshops, this might have a place.

So next year: MYP Mind the Gap, Part 2? [Edit 2017: I did propose this, but nope] 

Comments

11 responses to “MYP Mind the Gap: Tensions in Transition from MYP to DP”

  1. “The Grass Is Greener Where You Water It”: IBAP Conference 2013 | i-Biology | Reflections Avatar

    […] The final day was also my own presentation… but it gets its own post. […]

  2. Of Planners & Practices: Reflecting on Units | i-Biology | Reflections Avatar

    […] new book, ‘Visible Learning & the Science of How We Learn‘ arrived today), and based my IBAP presentation MYP: Mind the Gap on his work. It is really accessible and great as a stimulus for thought and further learning. I […]

  3. Of Planners & Practices: Reflecting on Learning | i-Biology | Reflections Avatar

    […] new book, ‘Visible Learning & the Science of How We Learn‘ arrived today), and based my IBAP presentation MYP: Mind the Gap on his work. It is really accessible and great as a stimulus for thought and further learning. I […]

  4. Hattie & Yates: Visible Learning & the Science of How We Learn | i-Biology | Reflections Avatar

    […] and student-learning goals. My presentation at the 2013 IBAP Regional Conference “MYP: Mind the Gap – Tensions in Transitions from MYP to DP” used Learning Impacts to guide discussion about practices across these two IB […]

  5. MYP: Mind the Gap [MA Assignment] | i-Biology | Reflections Avatar

    […] on ideas from my IBAP Regional Conference breakout session in 2013, this assignment focuses on different approaches to and interpretations of inquiry across the […]

  6. Are IB Schools Trivium21C Schools? | i-Biology | Reflections Avatar

    […] MA Assignment: MYP Mind the Gap (5,000 words on this whole idea that we need to look to both sides of the traditional/progressive debate and cross the MYP-DP inquiry gap with effective practices and meaningful inquiry). Builds on my IBAP Regional Conference breakout session here. […]

  7. A pragmatic approach to inquiry: my article in IS magazine | i-Biology | Reflections Avatar

    […] education,” is based on a thread of thought started with my “MYP: Mind the Gap” conference presentation and continued with an MA assignment. It was published in the most recent issue (Autumn | Spring […]

  8. The Tempered Learner (on self-regulation) | Wayfinder Learning Avatar

    […] all the way back to my “MYP: Mind The Gap” session at IBAP 2013, I’ve been thinking about defining effective self-directed inquiry, the role of the MYP in […]

  9. Wayfinding: Ripples & Reflections | Wayfinding & Learning Avatar

    […] MYP: Mind the Gap (IBAP Conference 2013) (on the misconception that the MYP “doesn’t prepare students for DP” and what to do about it) […]

  10. […] all the way back to my “MYP: Mind The Gap” session at IBAP 2013, I’ve been thinking about defining effective self-directed inquiry, the role of the MYP in […]

  11. […] all the way back to my “MYP: Mind The Gap” session at IBAP 2013, I’ve been thinking about defining effective self-directed inquiry, the role […]

Thank-you for your comments.